Reflection

reflection_____animated___by_hetorakelt-d46hiyb

What did you find surprising or striking as you furthered your knowledge about how people learn?

This course gave me the opportunity to rediscover and learn and understand my learning style and strategies.  It provided me with a better understanding of the different learning styles and theories. What I found surprising was the idea that as an instructional designer you can increase the motivation level in the learner. Instruction designers can achieve learning environments and stimulate and sustain motivation, even though they cannot control it. The learner is the one responsible for their motivation, but it is clear that the environment can have a strong impact on both the direction and intensity of a person’s motivation. Furthermore, constructivism and social learning theories are very enlightening. The information about learning constructivist theories brings an understanding of the circumstance in which learning occurs and the social contexts that learners bring to the learning environment. The learning theories give a good foundation on the academic level and developments in the motivational research area, and the ARCS Model makes it possible to apply it to the online learning environment.  I was also surprised to learn that I am also a social learner.  I am a very private person and didn’t consider myself a social learner, however, I have learned that I enjoy more socializing in an online platform than in the classroom or a  face-to-face contact. I also learned that I use cognitive theory when understanding new content which is why I choose demonstrations and examples to learn new ideas and course material.

How has this course deepened your understanding of your personal learning process?

This course has helped me better understand my personal learning process, style and, techniques I can use to help myself.  It was quite interesting learning, the learning style of adult learners because I see I exhibit many qualities and, I also see those qualities in the students I help as a program coordinator. For instance, self-direct learning can be applied immediately to a real situation in life.  Not only was I very connected with adult learners I also found connectivism very enlightening because it helped me understand my learning process. These theories have given me a great knowledge and as a result, I understand that I have an active role in the learning environment. I really enjoyed creating the blog and the different activities we had to do using the blog.  I enjoyed also reading my classmates’ blog and was able to learn from everyone’s Learning Networks.  It made me understand how useful are all the resources available that can be used for personal and professional development. Being aware of my personal learning method also aided me to identify areas of strengths and weaknesses and helped me to gain a better understanding of myself and what I need to do to make my learning experiences successful. This course has also affirmed my choice, preferring an unconventional learning method and the advantages of this experience for me as an adult learner.

What have you learned regarding the connection between learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation?

Understanding the connection between learning theory, styles, technology and motivation helped me realize how each person approach learning and how each learning aspect is used differently. Every learner will use their learning preferences and at the same time they utilize some aspects of each of the learning factors. The benefit I gain from understanding the connections between learning issues is how to use technology in an educational environment to offer solutions to most students who have their preferred learning methods. With the help of the learning matrix table, we did it was very helpful in understanding the connections between theories, learning styles and technology. The assignment gave us the opportunity to analyze the theories and their applications to technology integration.

How will your learning in this course help you as you further your career in the field of instructional design?

Understanding the learning process I learned in this course will have an impact on my future career as an instructional designer. The tools and knowledge I have acquired will help me to understand how to design a course and to see what mechanics to use and implement in the course and help better motivate the learner.  I’m looking forward to incorporating different technology tools in the classroom and see how it impacts he student success by providing them with many different resources available.  When designing a course, it is important to consider and understand the learning theories and the a direction they offer in the instructional designing process.

About Madeline Casanova Portfolio

Madeline Casanova is an Instructional Designer living in Orlando, Florida. Her experience has been in higher education, where she has worked in various administrative roles such as a recruiter, and student-supporting roles. Madeline enjoys spending time with her family, being active, hanging out at coffee shops and is currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Instructional design and technology at Walden University.

Posted on December 18, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

