Fitting the Pieces Together

Fitting the Pieces Together 2

Now that I have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, my views on how I learn has changed. At the beginning of the course, I said I’m a visual learner. I learn by reading the materials and then create a visual in my head to better understand the information.   Although I have learned a lot through conventional methods, I believe I learn most effectively through unconventional methods.   Not only it’s more convenient, but I can control my environment and study at a time where I can focus all my attention on the material. Furthermore, I’m a metacognitive learner since I can monitor my learning and can determine if I understand the material and whether or not I can explain it and/or apply it. If I explain it to others, I’m capable of coming up with new examples to clarify my explanation. Now that I have a better understanding of the learning theory and strategies I have identified that I learn best through Social Constructivism.

Besides, cognitive theories best describe how I learn. According to Ertmer and Newby, Cognitive theories emphasize making knowledge meaningful and helping learners organize and relate new information to existing knowledge in memory”. (Ertmer & T. J. Newby., 1993).   “Thinking, problem-solving, language, concept formation, and information processing,” are the steps I need to have to learn a new material.   The addition of constructivism, connectivism, and learning styles has helped with my understanding of how I learned in the past and how my learning environment will continue to change in the future. With the introduction of Connectivism I appreciate the significance of learning through the exposure and interaction with others; with the use of the web, blogs, and wikis to find, learn, and use information.

The role of technology in my learning experiences has advanced from textbooks to primarily digital, online learning resources. These days I use web-based resources to search most of the information needed to assist my learning process. The internet based resources include videos, blogs, web searches, online digital libraries, course discussion of collaboration, social media, and network resources.

With an understanding of learning theories, learning styles, learning strategies, and motivation I can better analyze an organization and/or individuals to provide the best learning environment. Understanding the learning theory will influence the work I will do as an instructional designer because I will have a better understanding which strategy, and content to use, for each student. “Because learning is influenced by many factors from many sources, the learning process itself is constantly changing, both in nature and diversity.” (Ertmer & T. J. Newby., 1993).

 

References:

A. Ertmer & T. J. Newby. Copyright 1993 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Journals. Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism: Comparing Critical Features from an Instructional Design Perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly.

Dr. Jeanne Ormrod. Laureate Education (Producer). (n.d.). An introduction to learning

About Madeline Casanova Portfolio

Madeline Casanova is an Instructional Designer living in Orlando, Florida. Her experience has been in higher education, where she has worked in various administrative roles such as a recruiter, and student-supporting roles. Madeline enjoys spending time with her family, being active, hanging out at coffee shops and is currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Instructional design and technology at Walden University.

Posted on December 13, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

